Sunday, 30 April 2017

Aikido class schedule for May

Note the following class dates:

Monday 1st May - Aikido class is ON.
Monday 8th May - NO Aikido tonight.
Tuesday 9th May - Aikido class is ON (instead of the usual Monday).

All other dates are as normal, Mondays and Thursdays throughout May.

Monday, 27 March 2017

Aikido in Films and on TV

I previously posted a clip of an aikido class that features in Amazon's blockbuster science fiction series, The Man In The High Castle. While aikido doesn't get as much coverage in the movies as, say, kung fu and karate, it does pop up every once in a while. I'll post a few more aikido clips from TV and cinema shortly. But to start, I really can't leave out Steven Seagal...

Saturday, 18 February 2017

The Aikido of Seigo Yamaguchi

If you understand Aikido and you watch closely, you will discover some gems in this old video. There is no commentary but there is much to be learnt if you watch attentively.

Tuesday, 3 January 2017

January Aikido Classes

There will be no Aikido class next Monday (January 9th, 2017) but there will be a class on Tuesday (January 10th). Apart from that, all classes run at their regular times in January - that's 7:30 to 9:30 on both Monday and Thursday. Newcomers are welcome to come along to any class. The first lesson is free. We also welcome visitors from other Aikido clubs no matter what style of Aikido you practise. So I hope to meet a few new people during the coming year!

Friday, 9 December 2016

Christmas & New Year Aikido Classes

If you want to wear off the mince pies and Christmas Pud you have plenty of opportunities at the Bucks Cross class this festive season. We are taking no days off this year. That’s right – we continue to practise as normal right throughout the Christmas and New Year periods. Here are the class dates:
  • Monday 12th December
  • Thursday 15th December
  • Monday 19th December
  • Thursday 22nd December
  • Monday 26th December
  • Thursday 29th December
  • Monday 2nd January
  • Thursday 5th January
  • Tuesday 10th January
The only date to note particularly is Monday the 9th when they will not be a class. However, there is a class on Tuesday the 10th. Apart from that, we practise as normal every Monday and Thursday at 7:30. As always, everyone is welcome – beginner or expert. We have no bars on Aikido styles. If you happen to be from some other club or some other area and you are staying in North Devon over the holiday period, we’d love to see you!

Tuesday, 25 October 2016

Aikido 13 Jo Kata Workshop, Bideford, Devon

Come and join us on Saturday, November 19th for an in-depth aiki-weapons workshop based around the techniques, principles and applications of the 13 Jo Kata. All welcome. Be sure to bring a jo!


Saturday, 21 May 2016

Aikido Street Fighting

Now, we don't generally encourage 'fighting' in Aikido. Even so, there can be no doubt that Aikido has some spectacular defences that can be used to good effect in action movies. Here is a scene featuring some Aikido-trained stunt men from a Czech film. I like the slow-motion bits...